top of page
Search
  • Helen Halliday

Paint Floating Ethereal Figures With Me!

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to my first blog post. I thought I'd just start somewhere and kick off with a basic post of how I created the Floating Ethereal Figures painting below.

I am still deciding which way is best to hang this painting... Feel free to let me know what you like best!



Cool Colours & Paint

I have used cool colours for this idea of floating ethereal figures.

All paints are Matisse Acrylic. I use often clear painting medium- Atelier.

The colours are:

  • Matisse Indigo (my favourite)

  • Payne’s grey

  • Australian blue gum

  • Cerulean blue

  • Brilliant Magenta (a little)

  • Titanium white




Art Supplies

The art supplies are:

  • 450 gsm pure linen 76.3cm x 76.3 cm

  • Pine stretcher bars

  • Brushes (small & large sizes, like in the photos)

  • Water

  • Paper towels

  • Disposable gloves

  • Sponge

  • Seed pods

  • POSCA pens -blue light, pink light and green light (I like to do some details with pens)



Tips & Techniques

In this painting I painted the background dark and added some brush strokes to create an interesting pattern that I sponge over with blue.


With this painting I also stamped on some seed pods that created the pattern in the garments.


You can see where I've done this on other paintings here.


If you'd like to stay up to date with what I'm working on, please check out my Insta for extra information.



44 views0 comments
bottom of page